

Republic of the Philippines **Department of Education** PUBLIC AFFAIRS SERVICE

PRESS RELEASE Briones lauds winners from education community in TOYM

PARAÑAQUE CITY, April 11, 2022 – Education Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones commended the efforts of the ten The Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) 2022 awardees, especially the three from the education community, during the Awarding Ceremonies held at Okada Manila.

"The Department is delighted with the results of the TOYM with the recipients being exceptional young people who will surely inspire our learners and the youth to excel in their respective fields," Secretary Briones said.

Lou Sabrina S. Ongkiko, a public school teacher at Culiat Elementary School in Quezon City for 11 years, received the award for the Education/Academe for spearheading various learning continuity plan and blended learning initiatives.

Ongkiko was also named one of the outstanding women in the nation's service (TOWNS) for her dedication to educating children, empowering teachers, and contributing to reforms in the Philippine education system.

Meanwhile, Jayeel S. Cornelio, Ph.D., an Associate Professor and Director of the Development Studies Program at the Ateneo de Manila University, received the citation for Education/Sociology. At the same time, Eleazar Abraham 'Abe' L. Orobia received recognition for Education and Culture as the head facilitator of Arts Workshops for Indigenous People.

Other awardees were Ariestelo A. Asilo (Social Entrepreneurship), Iloisa Romaraog-Diga (Agricultural Entrepreneurship), Anna R. Oposa (Environment, Marine Conservation), and Maria Yzabell Angel V. Palma (Science and Technology).

Jaime Alfonso M. Aherrera (Medicine, Cardiology), Jaemark S. Tordecilla (Digital Journalism), and Melvin J. Sanicas (Medicine) rounded up the TOYM recipients for this year.

Assistant Secretary for Youth Affairs and Special Concerns Juan Valerio Respicio IV highlighted that search's expansion to acknowledge people who excelled during the health crisis.

"The Department is pleased that the annual search has widened its recognition to emerging professional tracks and emphasized the nominees' research initiatives. The grantees have demonstrated a thorough comprehension of their work and have even responded to the COVID-19 pandemic's obstacles," Asec. Respicio noted.

Retired Chief Justice Renato Puno spearheaded the TOYM Board of Judges along with Sec. Briones, Inquirer Group CEO Sandy Prieto-Romualdez, University of the Philippines President Atty. Danilo Concepcion, CBCP Secretary-General Msgr. Bernard Pantin, and 1st District of Leyte Rep. Ferdinand Martin Romualdez.

END

JMC/JVM 4/8



PR-2022-109

2nd Flr. Aguinaldo Bldg. - Motorpool Area, DepEd Complex, Meralco Avenue, Pasig City Telephone No.: (02) 6316033; 6332120; 6337254





